Press Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

back to press releases

November 1, 2010
Results of Annual General Meeting

Vancouver, Canada – East West Petroleum Corp. (“East West” or the “Company”) (TSXV: EW.H) - Mr. Greg Renwick, President & CEO, announces that at the Company's annual general meeting of shareholders held on Friday, October 29, 2010 (the "AGM"), Messrs. Greg Renwick, David Sidoo, James Dewar, Marc Bustin, Nick DeMare and Hon. Herb Dhaliwal were elected as directors of the Company. All items put forth at the AGM were approved by the shareholders.
At a directors' meeting held following the AGM, the directors appointed Mr. Greg Renwick as President and Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Nick DeMare as Chief Financial Officer and Mr. James Harris as Corporate Secretary of the Company.  In addition, Mr. David Sidoo has been appointed as the Non-Executive Chairman of the Board.
The Board of Directors also established a number of committees to assist management in ongoing governance matters.  Appointed to the Audit Committee were Mr. James Dewar, Hon. Herb Dhaliwal and Mr. Nick DeMare; the Compensation Committee comprises Mr. David Sidoo, Hon. Herb Dhaliwal and Mr. Nick DeMare; and the Technical Committee comprises Messrs. Marc Bustin, Greg Renwick and James Dewar.
Said Mr. Renwick "I am very pleased that Mr. Sidoo has accepted the position of Non-Executive Chairman.  Mr. Sidoo and I share a similar vision for the future growth of the Company and I very much look forward to working closely with him and the other Board members as we work together to create value for our shareholders.  In addition, I am extremely pleased to have added Messrs. James Dewar and Marc Bustin as new Board members.  Mr. Dewar brings a broad range of international petroleum industry experience to the Company, including expertise in raising capital in the international finance markets.  Mr. Marc Bustin is a world-renowned researcher and consultant to the petroleum industry in the area of unconventional oil and gas and will contribute significantly to the Company's ability to identify and develop unconventional oil and gas plays. " 
Mr. Dewar brings 30 years of international petroleum finance, accounting and control experience to the Company.  Mr. Dewar began his career with Ernst & Young in Scotland where he qualified as a Chartered Accountant.  He joined BP PLC in 1982 and spent 27 years with the company, holding a number of Vice President and global/regional business CFO and finance roles, including: VP Global Transformation & Financial Systems; Global CFO, BP Retail (London, Houston, Chicago, Jakarta and Singapore); North American CFO, BP Trading; Asian CFO, BP Chemicals and Chief of Staff to BP’s R&M Global CFO.  Most recently, Mr. Dewar was Group CFO for Dana Gas PJSC, based in the United Arab Emirates, where his main responsibilities included the finance, accounting policy, treasury, investor relations, internal control, external stock market reporting, procurement and the credit, risk and cost management functions of the Group.  Mr. Dewar is a graduate of Strathclyde University, Scotland where he received a BA (Honours) in Accountancy & Marketing.  He is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.
Dr. R. Marc Bustin (Ph.D., P. Geol., FRSC) is Professor of petroleum and coal geology in the Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences at the University of British Columbia and president of RMB Earth Science Consultants and former president of CBM Solutions Ltd. and a founding shareholder of Cuadrilla Resources Ltd.  Bustin has over 30 years experience in unconventional gas exploration and exploitation in industry, research and consultancy.  Professional experience includes employment by Mobil Oil Canada, Gulf Canada Resources prior to joining The University of British Columbia and subsequently with Elf-Aquitaine (France), CSIRO (France) and CNRS (Australia).   Dr. Bustin has consulted in the area of fossil fuel resource evaluation and functioned as director and technical advisor for a variety of small through large petroleum companies in Europe, Africa, North America and Asia.  Dr. Bustin has published over 180 reviewed scientific articles on fossil fuels. Dr. Bustin has designed and managed gas shale and coalbed methane evaluation and development projects world wide, including China, Botswana, Europe, Australia, SE Asia, India and basins throughout North America. Dr. Bustin received his PhD in geology in 1980 from the University of British Columbia and is a registered Professional Geoscientist in the province of British Columbia. He is or has been an associate editor of the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geology Bulletin, Sedimentary Geology, International Journal of Coal Geology and the Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences. He is member of the ICCP, AAPG, TSOP and GSA.
Bustin is the recipient of the A. L. Leverson memorial award from the AAPG, received the Thiesson Medal from the International Committee for Coal Petrography for his contributions to coal sciences/organic petrology, the Sproule Award in 2003 for contributions to the study of unconventional gas resources and the Gilbert H. Cady Award (2009) from the Geological Society of America for his contributions to coal science and the Medal of Merit from the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geology (2009). Bustin is an elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.  Bustin is a registered professional geologist in the province of British Columbia.


Greg Renwick, President & CEO telephone:
fax: +1-604-683-1585

Nick DeMare, Director
telephone: +1-604-685-9316
fax: +1-604-683-1585 

East West Petroleum Corp. trades on the TSX Venture Exchange under the symbol EW.H. East West is an emerging exploration and production company focused on conventional and unconventional petroleum resources.
Neither TSX Venture Exchange nor its Regulation Services Provider (as that term is defined in policies of the TSX Venture Exchange) accepts responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this release.